Alle producten
  • Alle producten
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Acteur
  • Studio
  • Titel
  • Music
  • Album
  • Kunstenaar
  • Artiest (alleen Lp)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Persoon
  • Werk
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titel
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
GRATIS verzending op alles!


In Stock









Singles Collection 1951-62

Singles Collection 1951-62

  • Door Tommy Edwards
  • Release 7-4-2017
  • Muziekgenre Soul/R & B
  • Media-indeling CD
Share Twitter
Prijs: € 11,46

Product notities

Tommy Edwards was a sophisticated R&B vocalist, best-known for his landmark US and UK No. 1 "It's All In The Game", but who also had many other pop and R&B hits, and released many singles which showcased the sophisticated ballad style which characterised much of his work, although he was a versatile artist, releasing a country-flavoured album before Ray Charles began interpreting the genre. He first achieved success as a songwriter, co-writing the big 1946 Louis Jordan hit "That Chick's Too Young To Fry", but he eventually got his first recording contract in 1949. This great value focuses on his singles releases for MGM during the period when he achieved all his chart successes, naturally featuring all his nineteen pop and R&B hits, and selecting A and B sides from across his output during that time to provide what we hope is an entertaining and representative cross-section of his work and a worthy showcase for his extraordinary voice and his unique way with a song. Tommy died tragically young in 1969, so this collection certainly comprises his main career highlights. We have, by way of fascinating comparison, included both versions of "It's All In The Game" with which he made the charts in 1951 and 1958, and done the same with his two versions of "Please Mr. Sun", hits in 1952 and 1959, and "Morning Side Of The Mountain", a hit in 1951 and 1959.


Kunstenaar: Tommy Edwards
Titel: Singles Collection 1951-62
Genre: Soul/R & B
Releasedatum: 7-4-2017
Label: Acrobat
Media-indeling: CD
UPC: 824046319229