Alle producten
  • Alle producten
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Acteur
  • Studio
  • Titel
  • Music
  • Album
  • Kunstenaar
  • Artiest (alleen Lp)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Persoon
  • Werk
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titel
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
GRATIS verzending op alles!


In Stock














  • Door Antioquia
  • Release 9-9-2008
  • Muziekgenre Rock
  • Media-indeling CD
Share Twitter
Prijs: € 10,16

Product notities

Antioquia's debut album is a playful selection of songs, most of which were composed during drummer Craig Miller and guitarist Adley Penner's time spent in the mountains of Colombia -- in the region of the country that gave the band it's name. Guest appearances by Mexican activist, healer and songstress MamaCoAtl (on 'Hay Que Comer'), and members of Jazz Mafia (on 'Land'), complement the unique sound that the group developed while in Colombia and have been maturing and fleshing out with new members Mana Maddy (vocals) and Paul Martin (bass) since moving to the San Francisco Bay Area. Album reviews: 'Gringolandia opens with playful flutes and the smooth shakes of maracas over a mesmerizing djembe beat, quickly diving into airy, upbeat guitar before surprising listeners with a dip into a dark funk groove and crass male/female vocal switch-offs. The rest of the album continues in this manner, catching listeners off-guard with unexpected structural shifts, abrupt tempo changes, interludes of frantic guitar twang, noisy spastic drums and jazzy tangents of maddening horns. Beneath it all are the driving traditional Afro-Colombian rhythms, sprinkled over with mystical chimes, primal percussion, heavy slap bass and screeching guitar strings, coated with a layer of sweet and soulful Spanish song and finally seasoned with dashes of yelping and hollering chants and refreshing outbreaks of crisp slams of rhyme... ...Burning with the raw, ardent energy of Primus while simultaneously washing over listeners with Fugees-like earthy coolness, Gringolandia is a wild ride through the center of the earth and into the depths of the soul. (Yonas Media)' ~Brian Echon, West Coast Performer Magazine (October 2008 Issue) 'What a name for the debut of four white musicians playing a unique hybrid of Latin, African, and American music. Like San Francisco Afrobeat troupe Albino!, Antioquia doesn't seek to transcend it's identity so much as transport it, then share the results through music. At that the group succeeds, with interesting grooves and songs alike.' ~Nate Seltenrich, East Bay Express (August 28, 2008)


Kunstenaar: Antioquia
Titel: Gringolandia
Genre: Rock
Releasedatum: 9-9-2008
Label: CD Baby
Media-indeling: CD
UPC: 673520003327
Dit product is een speciale bestelling


We gebruiken cookies om inhoud en advertenties te personaliseren, om sociale media-functies te bieden en om ons verkeer te analyseren. We delen ook informatie over uw gebruik van onze site met onze sociale media-, advertentie- en analysepartners die deze kunnen combineren met andere informatie die u hen hebt verstrekt of die zij hebben verzameld van uw gebruik van hun diensten. Meer details